Wednesday, December 20, 2017

P-Town Axemen Ready for Foray into Mike McClurg-Mason Dixon Tabletop League

First baseman Joey Votto is expected to anchor a powerful P-Town Axemen
lineup that will take the field during the 46th year of the Mike McClurg-Mason
Dixon Tabletop League.

The P-Town Axemen -- loaded with a high-powered collection of returning players, including Joey Votto, Justin Upton and Zach Greinke -- are gearing up for their manager's first year in the Mike McClurg-Mason Dixon Tabletop League, which has been rolling since 1973.

"It's a great honor to be invited into the MM-MDTL," said Axemen GM and Manager Rob Priewe.

The Axemen are comprised of the roster that formerly competed as the County Road Rebels, under the direction of Terry Evans of Tishomingo, Mississippi. During 24 seasons in the MM-MDTL, Evans compiled a record of 2157-1731, including five championships. Whoa!

Easing the transition will be a roster bursting with talent, both in the field and on the mound.

"I can't thank Terry enough for the team he has handed off to me," Priewe said. "I can only hope to have the kind of success that Terry's squads have enjoyed over the years."

At present, the Axemen depth chart looks like this:

Catcher - Gary Sanchez
First base - Joey Votto
Second base - Marwin Gonzalez, Logan Forsythe
Shortstop - Trevor Story, Adrelton Simmons
Third base - Josh Donaldson
Outfield - Justin Upton, Jackie Bradley Jr., Steven Souza, Kevin Kiermaier 
Designated hitter - Nelson Cruz
Gerrit Cole

Starting pitchers - Gerrit Cole, Zach Greinke, Sonny Gray, Ivan Nova, Kevin Gausman, Joe Ross, Steven Matz, Brandon Finnegan

Relief pitchers - Brad Hand, Kyle Barraclough, Trevor Rosenthal, Hector Rondon

The MM-MDTL Draft/World Series is set for Saturday, Feb. 24, 2018, beginning at 1 p.m. ET. 

The MM-MDTL is a 20-team APBA baseball game league, which uses the basic game with modifications and a 25-player roster.


No comments:

Post a Comment